Five Major Branches Of Qigong You Should Know -

Five Major Branches Of Qigong You Should Know

Qigong is a form of gentle exercise that is composed of repeated movements. Its often aimed at strengthening the body and increasing fluid flow. For Chi kung, there are two major movements. The internal and external movements. Internal movements are major what differentiate Chi Kung from almost all other forms of exercise. It tends to emphasize on prolonged cardiovascular movements like running.

The following are the 5 major branches of qigong in china you should know;


Five Major Branches Of Qigong You Should Know
Five Major Branches Of Qigong You Should Know

This is one of the oldest forms of qigong. It originated from India before it traveled to China through two main sources. The first one came to the Shaolin Temple in Central China. This is where it was taught to Buddhist monks. At this point, the monks were introduced into various ways on how to make their bodies strong. So as to help them stay healthy as well as to withstand the prolonged meditations sessions.

The second source of Buddhist Chi Kung was the Tantric tradition of Tibet. It then spread throughout Western China and later on moved eastward. Over time, Taoist and Buddhist Chi kung practices influenced each other. This is due to the fact that they led to the formation of the three other branches.


This is was first China’s Chi kung method, from which all the other branches of Chi kung derived their techniques.  Taoist Qigong is majorly based on softness. For this reason, therefore, its ability to regenerate the body is what mainly makes it popular.

Taoist qigong changes how specific parts of your body, i.e. connective tissues, muscles, bones, joints, energy channels, mind states functions. This is because Taoist qigong entirely works with your physical motions and energetic systems. To ensure there is complete relaxation of the body’s muscles, tendons, and ligaments. It also ensures that you enjoy smooth, even and silent breathing.


Confucian qigong, on the other hand, focuses on enhancing all aspects of mental and intellectual capacities. This is by alleviating stress and strains that intellectual effort creates. Most of the Confucian techniques were all derived from the Taoist Chi kung. Whereby, most Confucian techniques focused on enhancing; intellectual intelligence, creativity, attention period and perception.


Medical qigong is a special application of Chi kung that was developed to help people suffering from chronic health conditions. Therefore, medical Chi kung programs are typically based on the principles of body meridian system and Chinese acupuncture.

Five Major Branches Of Qigong You Should Know
Five Major Branches Of Qigong You Should Know

Therefore, it can either be through moving and re-balancing the energy in a client’s body, target specific illnesses with specific. Chi kung sets, and finally to create prescriptions that change over time based on the individual’s progress.

Martial-Art Chi Kung

Martial art meditations are another popular branch of Chi kung. It is rooted in the primary goal of making one’s body vibrant and more energized. This is through changing a lazy person into an extremely active being with high-performance capacities.

Hence, one of the major objectives of martial art qigong is to make the body healthy with well-balanced chi. This is before making the entire body and mind exceptionally strong and stable.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter